Apart from being one of the char dhams, Kedarnath is one of the 12 Jyotirlingas Of Lord Shiva in India. It is situated in the Rudraprayag district of Uttarakhand. Every Year thousands of people visit Kedarnath either for pilgrimage, tourism, or for trekking. Kedarnath Yatra is a mesmerizing experience one must experience at least once in a lifetime. 

The trekking journey of Kedarnath is very adventurous with beautiful and splendid surroundings. People visit Kedarnath for trekking throughout the year. Winter trekking is preferred by most trekkers. 

During winters the surrounding is covered in a thick blanket of snow with sparkling water of river Mandakini and the mesmerizing flora and fauna of the Himalayas make the journey of Kedarnath yatra a memorable one.

Kedarnath Yatra

The journey of the Kedarnath yatra lasts for 7 to 8 days. The journey to and fro gives one a lifetime experience. Let’s have a look at the complete journey of the Kedarnath Yatra.

Day 1

On the very first day of your yatra, the journey starts from the Indira Gandhi International Airport in Delhi.

Day 2

On arriving in Delhi you can rest for a day in the hotel and on the second day, you need to travel from Delhi to Haridwar. You can go to Haridwar by train. Haridwar is approximately 217.6 km from Delhi. 

The train journey from Delhi to Haridwar is 6 and half hours. You can stay at a hotel and spend the night in Haridwar. If you wish, you can enjoy the surrounding locality of Haridwar.

Day 3

After spending the night in Haridwar you drive up to Guptkashi which is a 203.5km long journey. The journey takes about 6 hours. Take a break and enjoy your night in Guptkashi.

Day 4

From Guptkashi you travel to Gaurikund and finally, your main journey of the Kedarnath yatra begins. On reaching Gaurikund you go on for an adventurous and mesmerizing trekking journey to Kedarnath. This is a journey where you drive for about 15.3 km and then trek for 14 km.

On reaching Kedarnath stay at a hotel and take a break, enjoy your evening.

Kedarnath Trek Distance

On reaching Gaurikun you start your trekking journey of 18km. The trekking journey was initial 14km long, but after the flood disaster in Uttarakhand in the year 2013, the trekking journey increased to 16 km.

Route Map of the Kedarnath Trek

The 18 km trek starts from Gaurikund, the path for the trek was initially from Rambara which was a well-developed, well-fenced, and well-facilitated trek path. But the government has now changed the route of Kedarnath as the previous one has been completely erased by the 2013 flood disaster. 

The new trekking route starts from Gaurikund then the intermediate places that come along the journey to Kedarnath are, Jungle Chatti through Rambara Bridge → Bheembali → Linchauli → Kedarnath base camp → Kedarnath temple.

Features of the Kedarnath Trek

The Kedarnath trek comes in the category of medium to steep hikes. Every person willing to go on for Kedarnath trek needs to get a checkup for making sure that the person is physically and mentally fit for the trekking journey. 

The trekking journey begins at 4 am in the morning and ends at 1:30 in the afternoon. The timing is fixed because the Kedarnath trek lies in the Kedarnath wildlife Sanctuary; hence, pilgrims are not allowed to trek at any time other than the allocated time. People with respiratory disorders should avoid or take advice from the doctor before going for the Kedarnath yatra because the Kedarnath trek is a high-altitude trek and the atmosphere is always cool.

Facilities at the Kedarnath Trek

Palki, Dindi, Kandi, Mule, and Ponies are some of the services available for the Kedarnath yatra. The booking centers for these services are at Gaurikund/ Sonprayag. Rates vary according to the travel distance.

Along the trek, properly facilitated tents, drinking water, small shops, and restaurants are available for refreshing. If you wish, you can experience the beauty of Kedarnath through the birds-eye view. A helicopter service is also available from Kedarnath helipad to Phata and other helipads.

Day 5

On 5 the day of the Kedarnath yatra you trek for 8km to Vasukital and come by to Kedarnath after the completion of your journey. Vasuki Tal is a beautiful place where you can enjoy the beauty of the Himalayas, the sparkling lakes, and the natural splendors.

Descend to Kedarnath by evening. Take a break and relax.

Day 6

After trekking at Kedarnath yatra, now you are heading back home. You trek to Gauri Kund for 14km and then drive to Rudraprayag for 14.2km. Spend the evening at Rudraprayag and take a rest.

Day 7

Early in the morning, you begin your journey to Rishikesh by road. It takes around 4 hours and 10 minutes to drive for 141.7km and reach Rishikesh. On arriving in Rishikesh enjoy your evening in the hotel.

Day 8

On the last day of the Kedarnath yatra, you can enjoy sightseeing and take a tour of Rishikesh. In the evening come back to Haridwar.  By train, you travel back to Delhi. On reaching Delhi you are free to go on your way back home with your body, mind, and soul overwhelmed with beautiful memories of the Kedarnath yatra.


Kedarnath yatra is the experience of one lifetime. The journey is a perfect blend of natural beauty, pleasant atmosphere, adventure, and thrill. One must make sure to take a look at the travel guide before planning the Kedarnath yatra journey. Make sure you are physically fit for the trek and carry all the necessities along with you. And the most important thing is that enjoy the journey to the fullest.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Get notified of the best deals on our WordPress themes.

You May Also Like

How To Play Baccarat The Best Way

Advertisements When you search at all the possibilities that you’ve in a…

Kedarkantha Trek : The Complete Guide

Advertisements Overview If you enjoy trekking, the Kedarkantha trek is one of…

Burj Khalifa – The Tallest Building in The World

Advertisements An overview Burj Khalifa is known as the gem of Dubai…

Highlights of Bhrigu Lake Trek

Advertisements Bhrigu lake is located in the Kullu district in Himachal Pradesh.…